NYC Gardening

11 Apr

I’ve still not planted my window box geraniums. I’m being patient.

But, the other day, I received this in the mail:

On the back of the postcard, it says to plant it and chives will grow. Chive seeds are embedded within the paper of the card!

Has anyone had success with this sort of thing before?

Well, I do love my chives on my baked potato, so I’ll give this a shot.

In my little New York City garden.

Throw (I mean, gently place) some soil in the pot

Dampen the postcard

fit the card on top of the soil in the pot

add a slight layer of soil on top of the card

sprinkle with a bit more water

and patiently wait for chive babies to grow!

And, while I’m out here gardening, I’ll take a cutting from my Todd Plant.

I received another request from a Todd Fan.

Goodbye, little Todd Plant cutting!

Spreading the love, and looking forward to getting my hands in the dirt again soon.

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “NYC Gardening”

  1. Johnny D April 11, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    I wonder if squirrels like chives.

    • sallanscorner April 11, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      I hadn’t thought of that… well, if they do, it will be Sammy’s Entertainment!

  2. doose April 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    We’ve got a real nice crop of chives which so far the squirrels have left alone.

    • sallanscorner April 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      I hope that Northern Squirrels have the same taste buds that Southern Squirrels have! Thanks for your report.

      Of course, mine are just seeds and paper at this point – who knows what our squirrels will think – I’ll report if anything happens…

Leave a Reply

