The Mystery That Was My Grandfather

5 Apr

My Mother’s Father was a Man Of Mystery.

There are some things I guess we’ll just never know.

Like, why does the monogram on his towel (that I still have) read “G. T. F.” – when “T.” was never his middle initial?

And, why did my Grandmother sometimes call him “Bill” when that was never his name?

Well, regardless of all of the mystery, he was a GREAT Grandfather.

Here is my mom with her folks:

And, here are Sister and me with our Grandparents:

Remember when I blogged about my love for Pete Maravich, and how he inspired me to play basketball?

Well, my Grandfather was a basketball star, as well!

Here he is in collage, on the team (middle row, far left):

And, here is his high school basketball team:

Trouble is, I can’t tell which young man is my Grandfather. Does anyone know?

Here is a portrait of him from about the same time period:

If you have a best guess, please let me know in the comments section which player you think is my Grandfather.

I even contacted his high school, with the hopes that they would have a yearbook from that year. But, no luck.   😦

Oh well. I guess that’s the way this mysterious cookie crumbles.

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. Did I mention that he was also a wonderful horseman?

10 Responses to “The Mystery That Was My Grandfather”

  1. guesser April 5, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    My money is on the fellow in the far right standing. This is my conclusion after several minutes comparing him with grandpa in his college basketball picture, examining the hairline (slightly higher on his left, sloping down on his right side), the ears (adorably protrusive), nose and eyebrows and mouth. It looks like he had a real growth spurt somewhere between highschool and college too! Did I guess right?

    • sallanscorner April 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      I love your comment about the “adorably protrusive” ears!

      You *MAY* have guessed correctly – I simply do not know! But, you make some very good points.

      Thanks, Cilantro-Cilantro.

  2. Kristin Brænne April 5, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    ★★★★★

  3. doose April 6, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I think that it is the guy that took the picture

    • sallanscorner April 6, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      You are no help! 🙂 Does The Moose recognize her Papa??

  4. Johnny D April 6, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I also think that the only one who bears any resemblance is the fellow in the top row, far right.

    • sallanscorner April 6, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Guesser and Johnny D win the prize!!!

      My Mom just wrote me an email solving the puzzle:

      “In my head is the memory of me asking which one
      was Pawee and being told he was the little one on the right. It looks
      nothing like Pawee and he is so small, but lots of changes happen
      between hig school and college.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Of The Grandfather Mysteries Solved! « SAllan's Corner - April 8, 2011

    […] Well, thanks to a very intrepid fellow from the Chanute High School in Kansas, we have solved a couple of deep mysteries. […]

  2. More Grandfather Research, And My Defining Moment « SAllan's Corner - May 20, 2011

    […] some detective work, results, and the beginning of the search that I’ve been doing on my Grandfather and his mysterious, first […]

Leave a Reply

