For The Birds

2 Apr

Earlier, I had posted my mother’s recipe for our Moose Goose Pound Cake.

(For the recipe, click the link above.)

It’s a very tasty pound cake. The name was inspired by a family vacation we took when Sister and I were little girls, and somewhere along the way we fed some cake to some birds, and the name became “Goose Pound Cake”. Later, when I started to call my mom “Moose”, well…

You know what happened next.

Hence, the ever-popular “Moose Goose Pound Cake” was immortalized.

But, in written word only.

Until today.

My dear Moose recently sent me a few pictures, including this one:

Well gee, in the interest of full disclosure, this was the one she actually sent:

Anyway, it’s me feeding the geese the pound cake!!!

3 cheers for The Moose!

I had friends for life.

Or, at least for the duration of our visit there at Homosassa Springs, Florida.

There’s something that’s SO nice about feeding birds.

Here’s a workmate, friend, and fellow bird-feeding-appreciator, doing her thing:

I wonder why we love it so?

xoxo,

Sallan

4 Responses to “For The Birds”

  1. Johnny D April 4, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    I hope your mom is okay after having her finger removed from that first picture. 🙂

  2. anne April 4, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    That was an enjoyable moment for me feeding the gulls on the beach that day. Thanks for letting me see it again.

    I remember the feeling of looking up as the gulls dove down or hovered – and how exciting a sort of scary it was for them to take the bread out of my fingers. Sort of exhilarating and sort of Hitchcock at the same time.
    I hope I didn’t harm them by feeding them bread. I am sure they’d rather have had a fish.

    • sallanscorner April 4, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      My parents have bird feeders out on their back deck and they love watching the birds. They have families now that they can identify as they come and go. My mom also crumbles up bread to give them and the birds love it. No harm comes from the bread – I’m sure that your gulls that day were just as happy!

Leave a Reply

