I’m A Digitizing Fool…

22 Mar

My poor scanner – it has never seen so much action. I need to give it a rest today so it can cool down 🙂

I have been going crazy scanning in old family photos. And to think, I once resisted the digital age…

Now I’m a big, old Digitizing Fool!

But, who could blame me?

Without digitizing, I couldn’t share this:

I’m guessing this was taken in 1958 – Sister seems to be about 2 years old. Cousin A. looks like a little football player, and Cousin G. couldn’t be more stylish in her cat-eyed sunglasses. Aunt D. is the very picture of studiousness.

My mom there in the middle looks a little distracted – she is apparently eager to go climb Mound C .(If climbing was allowed – does anyone recognize this location? I don’t even know if it was taken in Georgia – could it be the Etowah Indian Mounds?)

This picture I came across seems to have been taken while our family was on a vacation in the Miami area around 1963:

I’m such a little squirrel I barely recognize myself. I do recall being toothless for a while.

Here is Sister out in the ocean:

My turn:

Our parents clearly said to us “Go out there all alone in the middle of that big ocean, and then when you’re WAY out there, don’t forget to turn around and wave for the camera!”

Why they sent us both out all alone I do not know. Why did not they implement The Buddy System? Should I be in therapy?

Here we are in less dangerous territory:

My Grandmother’s kitchen, Thanksgiving, circa 1964. I can’t take my eyes off that turkey. Or am I staring wistfully at the punch bowl filled with eggnog?

Whichever, Aunt E. chugging hers down seems to be of constant amusement to my Mother.

Only kidding, folks!

But I LOVE these old family photos – and the stories I can yarn.

Oh, can I ever yarn!

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “I’m A Digitizing Fool…”

  1. Johnny D March 22, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    It does look like you’re checking that punch bowl out!

  2. doose March 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    It is indeed The Etowah Indian Mounds.

    CHIEF RUNNING BEAR

Leave a Reply

