My Favorite Family Photo Of All Time

19 Mar

I’m laying it on the line.

An Absolute.

This is my favorite family photo of all time.

I guess my Dad took this picture, cause everyone else is in it. It’s the only picture that I can think of that shows my Mom, and both sets of my Grandparents, and my Sister. And, it’s so elegant!

It’s my Sister’s first birthday party, and they are all eating her cake.

I know, because we also have this picture, taken moments prior to the previous pic:

The first picture – my FAVORITE picture – has been bent and beat up a bit over the years, and yes, that’s my feeble attempt in Photoshop to restore it. One day I’ll have a professional restoration done. Apologies for my sad results – but trust me, it’s better (just slightly) than the mangled original.

Doesn’t my Mom look like a model – in her fancy outfit and high heels? And my Grandparents are all dolled up, as well!

I wonder what my Dad looked like on that day?

Here’s a pic of him, dated about 4 years later:

Maybe in my next Photoshop attempt, I’ll cut him out of the bottom picture and insert him into the first picture.

But then, he’d be the only one without a piece of cake.

He might not be happy about that.

Maybe I’d better just leave well enough alone…

I’m going to go back and stare at my favorite family photo for a few more minutes now.

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “My Favorite Family Photo Of All Time”

  1. Johnny D March 21, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    You Photoshopped the first picture? It looks good! The only problem I noticed was that the wall in the background of the photo seems to have only been painted halfway, and I’m guessing that’s how it was in the original photo. Maybe you could go in and paint rest. Just make sure to put a drop cloth over your computer first. 🙂

    • SAllan March 21, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Haha – you’re so cute!
      I’ll show you the original picture – LOTS of scratches which made the parts of the pic green – that is my awful attempt to get rid of the scratches and the green on the wall – I couldn’t get the right tone because there was nothing left to clone. Also because I’m a sad little retoucher…

      • Johnny D March 21, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

        I still think you did a good job considering. Those old color pictures fade a lot anyway, so the photo you worked on doesn’t look that different than the ones you didn’t.

Leave a Reply

