I Actually Like My Gym

17 Mar

I was never a big workout person. When I was younger, I had a physical job (at my parents’ greenhouses) so working out was never an issue.

Working itself was an exercise of “working out”.

Then, later, I think I had this record of Jane Fonda’s:

But that was then, and this is now.

I’m very lucky to have a fantastic health club right across the street from my apartment. I try to go 4-5 times a week.

Here are the lovely ladies that greet me in the mornings.

It probably goes without saying that I took this picture at Christmas time. Otherwise, I could tell a story about how the center lady wears a Santa hat every day – but that would be a fib, plus you might start wondering about the integrity of said club…

Here’s the pool (my favorite part):

And here’s the friendly lifeguard:

He is there to save lives if needed, PLUS he gives me the papers almost every morning. How great a combo is that??

Here are today’s papers – no good news in sight…

But, the main reason that I wanted to post this today, is because of the gentleman who swims in the same lane as I do, most every morning.

I’ve been going about 1-1/2 years, and I see him almost every day. He’s very nice, funny and I admire him swimming every single day.

He’s 92 years old.

A couple of days ago I asked him how long he has been swimming daily, and he answered “40 years”.

I’m in awe.

So, here’s hoping I’ll be like him in 50 years, still swimming every day.

Here he is in the far left-hand lane.

It probably goes without saying – not the guy standing there by the edge of the pool, but the guy doing the back stroke.

That’s my 92-year old friend.

God bless him.

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “I Actually Like My Gym”

  1. Johnny D March 17, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Your 92-year-old friend is doing the backstroke?
    I thought he was waving at you.

    • sallanscorner March 17, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Haha – funny! Now that you mention it, I can see that!

Leave a Reply

