HDR Photography

11 Mar

I have lately become obsessed with a new (new for me, at least) style of photography called HDR.

High Dynamic Range photography.

It’s when you take multiple exposures of the same image (under-normal-over), and then in a program like Photomatix  http://hdrsoft.com/ you combine the images so you get detail in the shadows and the highlights.

It’s the difference between this picture that I took in Maine last year:

and this – much more drama:

Here’s our spice store, looking normal:

and here’s our spice store looking fabulous with HDR:

What do you think? Which do you like better? Do you think the HDR is a “cheap trick”?

Because I’m totally in love with it.

Am I a “cheap trickster”?

You’ll be seeing a lot of this now on my blog. You’ve already seen it, on the marquee images, and some others.

Have you noticed?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “HDR Photography”

  1. Matthew Watkins March 11, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Im undecided on hdr. Most of my posts are in hdr, that is only because i want to become better at the process. Hopefully in the meantime i will learn to love hdr. But only time will tell

    • sallanscorner March 12, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      Hi Matthew – thanks for your comment. I know what you mean about HDR – I like it but sometimes I feel a little guilty about it! But, I think it’s here to stay – they say that digital cameras in the near future will be able to capture images with the HDR benefits automatically. It will be interesting to see what comes about.
      Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. Johnny D March 11, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I like it a lot!

    • sallanscorner March 12, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      No, I think you are right – the “grunge” processing that I am favoring right now adds “noise” to the picture which dirties it up a bit- don’t know why but I like this…

    • sallanscorner March 12, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Thanks!

  3. doose March 11, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Maybe it’s just my old eyes, but the old fashion way looks clearer to me.

Leave a Reply

