The Roaring 20’s

2 Mar

I have been scanning old family photos for this blog.

I have found some doozies!

You’ll allow me to go *slightly* earlier and later than the title of this day’s posting, won’t you? Maybe just for the first and the last photo?

If I promise that they are worth it?

Ok, here goes. This first one is from 1917 – my Grandfather in World War I:

Here is my other Grandfather, in his high school basketball team photo, taken in 1920. He was the captain, shown holding the ball:

Here is Grandma and Grandpa, in 1925. Doesn’t Pa look as proud as Punch?

And here is my other Grandmother. She was in high school (the topmost girl in the photo) so I’m guessing it would have been about 1925 as well. And I’ll bet those girls on the bottom are thinking “Take the danged picture already!”

This one I love – it’s my GreatGrandmother (or Great-GreatGrandmother?) – look at the kids all eating ice cream cones. And I love the car.

I love this one, too! (I love them all!)

But look at these bathing beauties – 1927 – my Grandma and Grandpa the middle two cuties.

Here’s my mom’s mom, with my mom – on the left. Don’t know who the lady is on the right, do you mom? This one, too is a bit later – maybe 1936? I love the hats and the giant fur collars.

Lastly, for today – here’s my Grandpa on the right, posing for an ad for his company, along with coworker Arch Smith. No date is on the photo; what date would you guess, from the clothing?

I love the natural, organic posturing of the two gents, don’t you?!

My Grandfather is saying, “And Arch – that is the way to the mens’ room.”

And Arch confirms, “That way?”

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “The Roaring 20’s”

  1. Johnny D March 2, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Who’s wearing the double-breasted suit–army grandpa or basketball grandpa? The double-breasted guy seems to be about 40 in the picture, so that might make it the late 1930s. Wikipedia says that double-breasted suits were popular from the mid-1930s to the late 1950s.

    Great pictures, by the way!

    • sallanscorner March 3, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      The double-breasted-suit-wearing man is basketball Grandpa – my Pawwee.

      Thanks for the info!

      Yes, I love these pictures – and will post more soon!

  2. doose March 2, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    The bathing beauty picture from 1927 must have been the first time the folks lived in Miami. I don’t know who the gal on the left is, but that was pretty risque for 1927.

    • sallanscorner March 3, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      I thought so, too. But then, The Roaring 20’s must have been quite an era to live through – at least until 1929!

Leave a Reply

