A New York City State Of Mind

22 Feb

Yesterday, being a snowy holiday, put me in a New York City state of mind. So, I put on my winter boots, bundled up and headed a couple blocks over to Times Square.

I will take a real picture of this in the early evening, when the colors are lovely with the building next door. I tried one evening last week, but it was with my iPhone and the switch was accidentally on “video” instead of “camera”. Here’s a screen grab just to give you an idea:

Anyway, back to yesterday’s adventure…

The Times Square 42nd Street subway station has a Roy Lichtenstein piece painted directly on one of the walls – how cool is that?!

I took the shuttle to Grand Central. The interior of the car I got on was completely “wrapped” for a show called Off The Map. I’ve never seen that before – the seats, ceiling – everything but the people!

Well, I guess the floor could have been covered, but ew. That would get gross really quickly.

Here’s the exterior of the car:

I rode the 6 Train uptown. I wanted to see part of an art installation that is currently on Park Avenue in the 60’s.

Here’s what I saw:

Giant roses, covered in snow. Next time, I’ll go back when we have a bright,blue sky. It won’t look so gloomy. I like this, but the other will make a nice contrast.

Then I admired the Bergdorf Goodman windows, at 5th Avenue and 57th Street. I always make the visit at Christmas time, as I think theirs are the best holiday windows in the city, but I seldom go during the rest of the year.

Boy, am I missing out! I love these colors!

Do you think they have an intern who had to blow up all of these balloons? And, these are just a couple of the many window displays!

Yes,I know – the fashion is typically way over the top – it’s supposed to be – but something makes me love these shoes and socks!

What do you think?

Maybe not too practical for a snowy, slushy day, but maybe come the Spring?

They remind me *JUST SLIGHTLY* of these shoes that I wore to my sister’s wedding back in 1985:

(I wish I knew what story I was telling to my cousin and my soon-to-be brother-in-law. I look like I’m trying to fly. Maybe I didn’t want to get my shoes dirty… well, back to the now…)

I then wandered to The Plaza Hotel, which I entered to warm up a bit.

Then I walked west along Central Park, which looked like a fairyland in the snow.

I got a chuckle out of this view of prime birdy real estate:

And then I crossed over a bit to admire the new fountain at Lincoln Center.

Back at home, Hubby and I watched the DVD of Roberto Benigni’s Pinocchio.

Two words: DON’T BOTHER.

It was, in our opinion, pretty dreadful.

We skipped through it, then ended up watching the original 1974 version of The Taking Of Pelham One Two Three. Ironic, as it is a story about a hijacked number 6 Train in NYC – the train I was on earlier today. Creepy!

This we thoroughly enjoyed. We always like watching a movie that was filmed in New York City; we try to identify as many of the locations as possible.

All in all, it was a perfect New-York-City-state-of-mind kind of day!

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

