“Ancient” Chinese Cold Remedy

18 Feb

While I was on jury duty last week, one of the court assistants had a terrible cold. He said that he thought he had walking pneumonia. The all of the sudden, the next day he seemed fine. I asked him about it, and he told me that he went to a Chinese doctor in the neighborhood. Apparently, this doctor’s office is just behind the courthouse in Chinatown, and a lot of the employees down there in legal-town go to this doctor.

The court assistant said that the doctor gave him “something brown” – he didn’t know what it was, but he was almost completely better the next morning!

I was very intrigued, as I had just finally gotten over a bad cold that lingered for weeks. I got the doctor’s name from the assistant, for future reference.

Then, yesterday – my first day home from jury duty – I was channel surfing, and came across Julie Chen on CBS.

She was talking about a Chinese cold remedy. Her mother gave her this whenever she was not feeling well, and she swears by it.

DISCLAIMER: THIS IS NOT MY RECIPE. I HAVE NOT TRIED IT.

But I found it very interesting, especially right after my conversation with the court assistant, so I wanted to talk about it further.

Ms. Chen said to take a can’s worth of soda.

Put it in a pot.

Add 1/2 inch or 3/4 inch – more if you can take the spice – of fresh ginger root. She said to “hammer” it up so (“pound it to get the juices going”).

Add it to the soda in the pot.

Then take one or two scallion stalks (green onions).

She said to “pound them up – WITH the root –  and put that in.”

Then heat this all up on medium heat (I guess, not too quickly since it’s carbonated) until it boils, and let it simmer for a little while.

She said, drink this for 2 days, and snap! She snapped her fingers, and with a hand motion, she waved that cold goodbye.

Now, I don’t know. But next time I get a cold, I’m going to try this and I will let you know the results.

I’m not too sure how ancient this is:

But I’m going to try this remedy, anyway.

By the way, all of the pictures in today’s post I pulled off The Internets. When I got the ginger picture from a ginger site, I learned this:

Nausea…

Probably the most widely-known of the health benefits of ginger is it’s ability to relieve nausea. In addition to helping relieve the symptoms of nausea from a common stomach bug, or flu, ginger can be used to combat nausea and vomiting from chemotherapy, pregnancy (morning sickness,) and post-surgery. Drinking Ginger ale for nausea is NOT just an “old wives’ tale” afterall!

Migraines…

1/3 teaspoon of powdered ginger or several slices of fresh ginger may help prevent a migraine from fully developing if taken at the onset of migraine symptoms. Results are still experimental, but why not give it a try? Researchers in Denmark attribute this benefit to ginger being able to block the effects of prostaglandins, which are substances that cause inflammation of the blood vessels in the brain, leading to migraines.

Arthritis…

Studies of people with osteoarthritis have shown ginger to aid in inflammation and pain, without the side effects of many anti-inflammatory drugs. For arthritis: Ginger taken orally may help alleviate pain. Topical ginger oil can be rubbed into a painful joint or you may apply a warm compress of fresh ginger.

Ginger Tea:

To brew your own ginger tea, either drop a few slices of fresh ginger in boiling water or steep 2 tablespoons of freshly shredded ginger in hot water. Let cool and drink.

Children under 2 years of age should NOT use ginger.

Let me know if this cold remedy works for you. P.S. – no one says it tastes good.

xoxo,

SAllan

8 Responses to ““Ancient” Chinese Cold Remedy”

  1. Johnny D February 18, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    There’s an article in the paper today about how the caramel coloring used in colas contains ammonia and produces compounds shown to cause cancer in studies of animals.
    I’ll stick to ginger tea!

  2. Richard November 12, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Chicken long rice is what I make when i have a cold. It has ginger, green onion, chicken, bean thread noodles and I serve it with white rice.
    Clears you sinus..calms your stomach.. Warms you and fills you up. I like ginger so i add a lot of it.
    For snacks when i have a cold i make rice balls with finely chopped ginger, thin sliced green onion and wrapped in nori.
    The theme…… Ginger…….Green onion…Rice

    • sallanscorner November 12, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      Yum Richard – this sounds really good. I love ginger, too. Can’t wait to try your recipes – cold or not! Thanks for commenting!

      • Richard November 12, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

        1 whole chicken cut up
        20 – 1/8 inch thick slices of ginger
        1bunch of green onions
        1 package bean thread noodles
        pinch of white pepper
        tbls soy sauce

        Soak noodles in warm water eith a few slices of ginger & 1 chopped green onion….green and white parts
        Put chicken in a large pot

      • Richard November 12, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

        Cover with water add all of the remaining slices of ginger and white parts of the green onion. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat.. Simmer until chicken is done.
        Remove chicken when cooked
        cool and shread chicken
        add soy sauce, white pepper, chicken, bean thread noodles to broth.
        Finely slice remaining green onion and set aside

        Put cooked white rice in a large bowl- laddle chicken long rice into the bowl- add a few of the chopped green onion and enjoy

  3. sallanscorner November 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Richard – wow! Thanks so much for your complete recipe! Sounds great and very healthy. I LOVE garlic, ginger, green onions – in fact, you have inspired me to put up one of my very favorite salad dressing recipes which highlights these ingredients.

    Stay tuned, I’ll make it, photograph it, and will try to have it up before soon.

    Thanks again!!

    Sherrie

  4. Karnam Lodi July 1, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    This is an awesome post, I’ll definitely be adding you to my blogroll 😀

Leave a Reply

