My Funny Valentine

14 Feb

My funny Valentine


Sweet comic Valentine


You make me smile with my heart


Your looks are laughable


Unphotographable


Yet you’re my favorite work of art

Is your figure less than Greek?


Is your mouth a little weak?


When you open it to speak


Are you smart?

But don’t change a hair for me


Not if you care for me


Stay little Valentine, stay


Each day is Valentine’s day

Here’s a video of Frank Sinatra singing this tune to daughter Nancy. The story goes that younger daughter Tina was supposed to go out to be sung to, but then she got shy and refused to go out. So Nancy went out instead. Frank, expecting Tina, says “Nancy! What a surprise!” before he starts singing. Tina kicks herself now, for not going.

I love the little shake of their heads when he sings “Are you smart?”. And she clearly just adores her father.

Enjoy!

Thanks to songwriters Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

