Polaroids

5 Feb

Lately I’ve been scanning a lot of photographs – making them digital for the blog. This is a daunting task. I have been taking pictures since I was 11 years old. Not to mention having old family photographs that I have inherited from grandparents and the like.

I have about a bizzillion photo albums. I try to take it a picture at a time.

Some of the pictures that I like best are from a Polaroid Swinger camera that I received in 1970 as my birthday present. I just looked it up on Wikipedia, and found out:

“The Polaroid Model 20 “Swinger” was a popular Land Camera produced by the Polaroid Corporation between 1965 and 1970. At $19.95 USD it was the first truly inexpensive instant camera, a fact that helped fuel its enormous popularity and made it one of the top-selling cameras of all time. The Swinger was especially successful in the youth market due to its low price, stylish appearance, and catchy “Meet the Swinger” jingle in a television advertisement featuring a young Ali MacGraw.”

I wish that I still had the camera – I don’t. Here’s a picture of one that I found on the internets:

And, here’s the commercial for it:

After 41 years, you would think that the pictures would be really faded. But if exposed properly, they are actually still quite vivid and rich. Judge for yourself.

Here’s my sister. She looks really happy. Please ignore the big white blob on the right that just may be my finger in front of the lens. It was, after all, my first picture…

I love the streaks on the images. If I remember correctly, after the picture developed, you coated it with a “fix” chemical. A little cushy moist tube in a plastic container that you had to carry around with you.

Here’s a picture of my dad with my mom in the background:

I like the ice crusher on the cabinet by the phone. Isn’t that a bit high for practical use? When I felt bad, my mom would give me ginger ale with crushed ice – I loved that and it always made me feel better!

Here’s my mom chatting on the phone:

And here are my grandparents TG and Pawwee. I with this one wasn’t so dark, but hey – what can I say?

Here’s our Uncle Dave. He wasn’t really our uncle, but he was my parents’ friend whom we called “Uncle”. One evening he brought a date over to the house for a visit with my parents, and when she took off her coat it was noticed that she was topless. The four of them sat in the living room chatting like all was normal. This was the Swinging 70’s. I wasn’t there, but boy did I heard the story. Too bad I wasn’t hiding around the corner with my camera. That would certainly be a picture for the blog.

Good ole Uncle Dave.

Let’s talk about a more tame party. Here are my friend who came over for my 11th birthday party. Quite a little assembly, don’t you think?

And lastly, here’s a picture of one of my friends in front of my bedroom wall.

Do you see who is back there pinned up? Donny Osmond, Bobby Sherman and The Partridge Family. Have I mentioned that I had exquisite taste back then?

Eventually, this friend and I had a fight, and she stuffed a potato in my parent’s car’s tail pipe. I’m not sure what this was supposed to do. Blow up the car when my parents turned the key?

Sadly, these are all of the polaroids that I still have from this first photographic adventure of mine. But I am so glad that these still exist. They bring back lots of memories.

If anyone knows about that potato trick, please fill me in. I’ve been wondering about that for 40 years now.

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “Polaroids”

Leave a Reply

