In Honor Of Today’s Snow

25 Jan

In honor of today’s snow (New York City’s 5th (?) of the winter, so far) I am reminiscing about snow. Here in New York City.

I’m not certain about that number, but a news report says “From Dec. 1 until yesterday, 36.1 inches have fallen in Manhattan’s Central Park, 27.4 inches above normal, according to the weather service.”

Today, it seems to be just a dusting.

My first real NYC snow experience was the blizzard of 1996. I was here along with a couple of workmates from Atlanta. We were in town for a photo shoot, which had ended and we were trying to return to Atlanta out of Newark Airport. They de-iced our plane 3 times before deciding to stay grounded and cancel the flight.

We managed to return to the city on the last bus that departed Newark. There were cars stranded on the highway, and several times passengers on our bus got out to push cars out of the way so that our bus could continue.

My workmates and I were lucky to get rooms in a Times Square hotel, where we were stranded for 4 days before able to get a flight to return to Atlanta.

I wish I had gotten pictures of that eventful bus trip back to the city.

But I didn’t.

Here’s Times Square on 1/8/96. The city was basically shut down:

Over 20″ fell during that storm.

Little did I know that my hubby-to-be was snuggled in his warm apartment about 2 blocks away. We would meet 1 year in the future from time of this blizzard.

Now that I live in New York City, the most fun I have during snow storms is taking pictures of snow men. And snow women. And snow creatures.

Well, either taking pictures, or being taken. Above pic by hubby.

This one is particularly creative:

And here’s another snowgirl:

And a snow boozer:

This little snow dog captured my heart.

Some aren’t quite as creative – but, hey – I tried!

Whenever I think of snow, I can’t help but think of this song from “White Christmas”:

Keep warm!

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

