Our Easter Tradition

23 Jan

While looking through my old family photos, I’m struck that there were typically two times a year that my parents pulled out the old camera. At Easter, and at Christmas. Our photographic traditions.

Now, mind you – this was WAY before digital cameras were around. I’m talking about the old-negative-film, send-off-to-get-developed days. Way long ago. Almost “Little House On The Prairie” long ago.

As soon as I could stand and wear a ruffled, itchy petticoat under a fluffy, swirly dress – my parents would position me next to my sister (in her own ruffled, swirly dress) and snap a picture or two. I remember that I HATED those itchy, tulle petticoats.

I just looked up “tulle”, and Wikipedia tells me:

“Tulle is often used as an accent, to create a lacy, floating look. Tulle may also be used in underskirts or petticoats to create a stiff belled shape. Gowns are often puffed out with the use of several layers of stiff tulle.”

That’s about right. “Lacy, floating” is about right. So, my parents would position me, lacy and floating, next to my similarly lacy and floating sister at Easter, and take our pictures.

Here is my sister alone, on Easter in 1960. I was about 4 months old, and not yet forced to wear tulle undergarments. So, she is posing solo:

The next year, 1961 is when I make my first Easter appearance.

Here we are again.

It appears that I am so lacy and floaty that TG has to hold me down to earth, or I’ll just float away.

A year later, here we are in 1962.

I’m trying to flatten my tulle by sitting on it, and sister LA looks just like a little ballerina, doesn’t she?

In 1963:

Oh, my gosh! The tulle! And corsages! We look so cute, but I tell you I was suffering! Can someone call Children’s Services, please?

I used to try to hide those itchy tulle petticoats so my mother couldn’t find them. Somehow, she always found them anyway.

Hasten along to 1966:

Why am I smiling? I’m itchy and I have no teeth!

1968:

Finally – no tulle! And, I am hugging a cat, so I’m happy. (I’ve always been partial to orange kitties.) And, you may be wondering why our parents posed us in front of a car dealership? Good question. They were our neighbors. We lived next to a car dealership.

Sister doesn’t look too happy. She looks glum. Why so glum, chum? Maybe it’s because of those gloves.

Easter, 1969:

I’m turning into a little business woman right before your eyes. My little 2-piece suit. Am I wearing pearls?

I only have eyes for the candy…

By Easter 1970, we got someone else to take the picture, so here’s my whole family:

Yes, we went to see the movie “Patton” on Easter Sunday. We really knew how to observe the holiday.

Actually, I think we went to Morrison’s Cafeteria, which was right next door to the theater. I always used to get two helpings of mashed potatoes. I used to LOVE mashed potatoes. Still do, as a matter of fact.

Maybe we saw “Patton” after dinner, I don’t remember.

Wikipedia tell me:

“The film’s famous beginning has General Patton giving a speech to an unseen audience of American troops, with a huge American flag in the background.”…”The film ends with Patton walking his dog…”

I don’t remember seeing the movie. But this entry in Wikipedia, and the movie name “Patton”, make me remember something else, and it is very Easter-dress-related.

One year, when shopping for my tulle-filled, lacy floaty Easter dress with my mother, I saw and fell in love with MY perfect dress. It had a large, patten leather dog face covering the entire front of the dress. I loved that dress. I wanted SO much to be photographed on Easter morning wearing that dress. But my mother didn’t like it. She didn’t feel that it was appropriate. It had no tulle. And she probably didn’t like the idea of going into church with that large, patten leather dog face.

We didn’t get that dress.

I was a pretty spoiled kid. I usually got what I wanted. Except that dress.  And a horse. But that’s another blog for another day.

I wish I had a picture of me in that dress. Hear that, Moose?! It haunts me to this day!

Well, back to the pictures.

Here in 1972, I was a vision in purple. And sister a vision in orange :

After this, our Easter picture tradition ends. I guess my mother lost her interest when we became taller than she was, and she could no longer force us to wear tulle.

I just did a “Google Image” search for “dress with patten leather dog face” and not a single, appropriate image came up. On the entire World Wide Web. I could have been so original!

Dang.

xoxo,

SAllan

One Response to “Our Easter Tradition”

  1. Joe Sarra March 14, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I love these pictures!!! You are soooo fortunate to have these fabulous family photos!

Leave a Reply

