The Answer To My Dilemma

13 Jan

Last night, President Obama gave a speech to mourn the victims of the Tucson shooting spree that took place last weekend. A New York Times editorial called it “one of his most powerful and uplifting speeches.”

Hubby and I were in tears while watching.

In part, Obama asked for Americans to “expand our moral imaginations” and “sharpen our instincts for empathy”.

“I believe we can be better,” Obama said. “Those who died here, those who saved lives here — they help me believe. We may not be able to stop all evil in the world, but I know that how we treat one another is entirely up to us.”

“Have we shown enough kindness and generosity and compassion to people in our lives?”

“If this tragedy prompts reflection and debate, as it should, let’s make sure it’s worthy of those we have lost.”

Also yesterday, Hubby and I watched the Jon Stewart show from Monday 1/10, when he opened his show not with a comedy routine, but with a very heart-felt monologue about the shooting and our collective reaction. He ended the speech saying “Wouldn’t it be a shame if we didn’t use this opportunity to make sure that the world we are creating now wasn’t better than the one we previously lost.”

Of course the answer to my petty dilemma I posted about yesterday is revealed over and over in these two speeches.

In honor of compassion and love and giving, I am going to give my friendly, dessert-loving cashier this recipe today, and will be making it myself this afternoon.

The Moose Goose Pound Cake

It’s called this, because my mom (Moose) made this pound cake when we were kids, and on while vacation my sister and I fed it to some geese. Don’t remember where we were, it may have been on this trip in 1967 when we drove up to Atlantic City

but from then on, we called it the Moose Goose Pound Cake.

Recipe and pictures to come in next post.

With empathy and compassion, which I will not let fade into laziness and pettiness…

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

