A Dilemma

12 Jan

We got some more snow last night. About 6 inches. It’s the same storm that hit the South a couple of days ago. Not a giant wallop here, but enough to make it sloppy.

Slushy streets and puddles at crosswalks – yuck.

On a day like this, one craves comfort food. For Hubby (who is home with a bad head cold) this means Ramen Noodles. For me, it’s Chicken Pot Pie.

I know, not very gourmet of me. But totally satisfying. However, it takes 70 minutes to cook, so that’s why I am typing right now as it bakes – to tell you about my dilemma. It’s grown to the point that I need to air it out.

One day last summer I was at my local grocery store. I was buying the ingredients to make a scrumptious Tres Leches Cake. The list of ingredients is interesting, and the nice cashier asked what I was making. I told her, she was intrigued and she asked for the recipe.

(Here’s the one I made, back then. I’ll have to make another one soon so I can photograph the process and post it.)

Later, when I was in the store and saw the cashier again, she raved about the recipe. Then immediately asked me for another recipe to share with her. So, a few days later I took her a recipe that I love for an apple cake.

For Christmas, I made some mouse cookies. Again, my friendly cashier saw my purchases and asked what I was making. I told her about the cookies, and she said that the recipe sounded too complex for her liking. She asked for me to bring in a different recipe for her. I told her that I was going to make some chocolate bark, but I hadn’t made it before and wouldn’t want to share untested recipes. Pretty much end of story, right?

Wrong! I saw her a week or so ago, and she commented that she had “waited, and waited… Christmas came and went, New Years came and went – no recipe”. I laughed and joked how she was trying to guilt-trip me. Another customer in line got into the conversation. Laugh, laugh…

This sort of thing has happened to me before. I used to frequent a particular restaurant in the neighborhood. I liked their salad. I’d go every couple of weeks or so with a good book. It’s kind of a suburban, touristy place, but I liked it anyway. One particular waitress used to always wait on me. It got to the point that whenever I’d go in, she would run over and hug me. Once she introduced me to her coworkers. I don’t really recall HOW she did this, as we never knew each other’s names, but somehow she did. I guess she was a lonely person, but all I wanted was the salad and a good hour to read. I finally quit going to the restaurant.

Does this make me a bad person?

So today, back at my local grocery store for my chicken pot pie – there was the cashier. In with it she started: “I am patiently waiting”, “I will wait until Easter”, etc.

It’s not like I can go to a different grocery store. This one is pretty much it.

So, I guess I have to break down and give her a recipe to quiet the storm? Then another, and another? How can this possibly end??

Hubby joked the other day that he has a history of having to quit going places because he gets into arguments with people (one day I’ll tell a few stories here about some of his more humorous encounters), and how I have to quit going into places because I’m too nice.

It hurts.

Maybe the chicken pot pie lunch will help.

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “A Dilemma”

  1. Her dudeness January 20, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    I love this post! I know you resolved your dilemma by deciding to give another recipe but I have an eeeevil suggestion after reading this: you could give a reeeeallllyy bad/botched recipe!!! Ooohh I’m mean! I’ll never suffer from being too nice! I want to hear the follow up to this scenario…

  2. SAllan January 20, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    You know those Priceline Negotiator commercials with William Shatner? You can be my Evil Twin and give out the bad recipes 😉

Leave a Reply

