My Family’s Reality Show

6 Jan

In 1974, my Dad was featured in an advertisement for dirt. Soil. In fact, Metro-Mix Growing Media.


This was pretty exciting stuff for 1974.

That’s my Dad on the left in the top picture, and on the right in the bottom picture. Wasn’t he star quality?! The dirt people sure thought so!

It pretty much was the equivalent then to having a Reality Show now.

Here’s the set-up:

My Dad was a horticulturist. He grew flowers. He was danged good at it, too.

This was my playground while I was growing up:

This was one of the greenhouses filled with poinsettias just before the holidays.

And, here is a picture of a greenhouse filled with chrysanthemums and hydrangeas:

Our whole family worked at the greenhouses. My Dad and Mom were the stars of the operation:

Each morning they would consult one another on urgent family-business matters, such as coordinating their wardrobes. (Wink wink, just kidding!)

Here I am working in the greenhouse, and looking none too pleased about it, either:

And here’s my sister, not looking too happy either, but at least she’s showing her dimples and a very cute haircut:

This was my family’s “Reality Show” in the 70’s & 80’s!

Here is a shot of some of the workers:

My gosh, they all look like gangsters! I think that the Coen Brothers should cast this group in their next Western!

One of my favorite “episodes” from “The Reality Show” was when we threw a company BBQ, and one of the employee’s grandparents came (uninvited), and went through the food line with their Tupperware, and then left the party with their booty.

In this blog, there will be likely more greenhouse “Reality Show” stories pending. In truth, it was a great atmosphere to grow up in, and I thank my Dad and Mom.

In our family, we don’t just have green thumbs; it goes way beyond that!

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “My Family’s Reality Show”

  1. Johnny D January 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Your dad definitely had that whole Scott Bakula thing going!

  2. doose January 7, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    those people on the back end of the truck look like Jerry Springer rejects.

  3. Ellen Girone January 25, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    What a cool environment to grow up in!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strange And Wonderful Things Happened Here « SAllan's Corner - March 26, 2011

    […] 26 Mar I grew up in a strange and mysterious place. I think I’ve mentioned it before. […]

  2. Hot Sauces, Mexican Hat Dance, Molten Spiced Chocolate Cake, Oh My! « SAllan's Corner - October 10, 2011

    […] knows that I love greenhouses, so any chance I get to visit one, I’ll gladly […]

Leave a Reply

