The “I Love This Salad” Salad

5 Jan

This is the perfect salad. I think I made it up. Then again, it could be in a million cookbooks. Who knows? But in my opinion, it is the perfect blend of flavors, textures and colors.

Here’s what you need:

First, wash and chop up a bit of endive.

Then, add some chopped celery.

Then, chop and add a bunch of parsley. Don’t skimp on this. It’s not just a garnish.

Over a low heat, toast some nuts. This time I used slivered almonds. Last time I used walnuts. Whatever floats your boat. Watch them, don’t let them burn. When you can smell them, they are just about done.

When they have toasted up a bit, add a tiny bit of sugar to candy them. You don’t have to do this, but it brings them up just another notch.

Spread the hot nut pieces on a bit of parchment paper to cool. Watch out, don’t burn your fingers by trying a nibble too soon!

Rinse and add some garbanzo beans.

And some blue cheese crumbles. I LOVE blue cheese – but if you don’t, just substitute your favorite kind.

And then, add some mandarin orange segments.

About all done! Add the salad dressing of your choice. Right now I’m loving this Vidalia Onion & Peppercorn dressing.

I also added a bit of fresh cracked black pepper – I like it spicy!

Now, that’s your perfect salad!

Enjoy!

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

